After four days of championship, with views of the Cordilleras, meet the new South American cricket champions (VI WSAC 2015 – Santiago / Chile)!

In an unprecedented competition, the women’s Cricket team took the Champion’s Cup for the first time. The competition started in 2007 and became WSAC (Womens South American Championship) in 2010, this being the sixth edition.

With consistent wins against Peru and Chile, Brazil had a third game played against Argentina, with both teams already qualified for the final. Even with the guaranteed classification, the game was played until the last over, with the Brazilian women getting close to the desired victory.

The next day, the team organized and went on the field with their heads held high to play a beautiful game, with the support of the fans in an electrifying final!

Starting in batting, Brazil reached 109 runs (Narayana 30, Roberta 20, Ana 15) and left the search for the score in the hands of Argentina. With safe fielding and efficient bowling, the Argentines never had a chance to grow in the game and the title was guaranteed by the Brazilian team!

WSAC Awards: CricHQ Womens SAC

  • Championship beater: Roberta Moretti Avery (Brazil)
  • Championship pitcher: Sofia Retamales (Argentina)
  • “Fielder” of the Championship: Maria Eduarda Costa (Brazil)
  • Best Player in the Championship: Alison Stocks (Argentina)

The men’s team did not have a good start, losing the first game to Argentina, but recovered with victories in the next games against Peru, Chile, Mexico and Colombia and secured its place in the final against the rival rivals.

In the final, with the quick elimination of G Caisler, Yassa and Sam Kelly ran after better scores (61 and 35) and got 135 points on the scoreboard. However, Argentina managed to maintain a good level with G Husain and D Mauro to reach the scoreboard in the 15th over and take home the cup of champions!

SAC Awards: CricHQ Mens SAC

  • Championship scout: Chris LAAS (Colombia)
  • Championship pitcher: Agustin Husain (Argentina)
  • “Fielder” of the Championship: Russell Perryman (Chile)
  • Best Player of the Championship: Hernan Fennell (Argentina)

Congratulations to the players from Brazil!
We hope you all in 2016